Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, September 26, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Dennis Bevington for Judy Wasylycia-Leis and Paul Crête for Pierre A. Paquette.


Other Members present: Ken Boshcoff.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Ducks Unlimited Canada: Cynthia Edwards, National Manager; Barry Turner, Director, Government Relations. Canadian Coalition for Immunization Awareness and Promotion: Ian Gemmill, Co-Chair; Mary Appleton, Senior Manager. Canadian Association of Mutual Insurance Companies: Normand Lafrenière, President. Association of Labour Sponsored Investment Funds: Les Lyall, President. Canadian Automobile Dealers Association: Richard C. Gauthier, President. Association of Municipalities of Ontario: Doug Reycraft, President. Canadian Activists for Pension Splitting: Frank E. Stokes, President. As an individual: Jeremy Amott, Independent Insurance Broker, Life Insurance. Canadian Museums Association: John G. McAvity, Executive Director; Calvin White, Chairman. National Association of Friendship Centres: Peter Dinsdale, Executive Director. Canadian Alliance of Student Associations: Phillippe Ouellette, National Director; Toby White, Government Relations Officer. Health Charities Coalition of Canada: Deirdre Freiheit, Executive Director; Wim Wolfs, Chair.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:09 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 6:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:36 a.m.