Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 54
Wednesday, May 2, 2007

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:27 p.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Omar Alghabra, Dave Batters, Barry Devolin, Norman Doyle, Raymond Gravel, Nina Grewal, Hon. Jim Karygiannis, Ed Komarnicki, Bill Siksay, Hon. Andrew Telegdi and Blair Wilson.


Acting Members present: Roger Gaudet for Meili Faille.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Andrew Kitching, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Citizenship and Immigration: Mark Davidson, Director, Legislation and Program Policy, Citizenship Branch; Margaret Dritsas, Nationality Law Advisor, Citizenship Branch; Clark Goodman, Acting Director, Citizenship and Immigration Program Delivery; Rose Anne Poirier, Manager, Program Support, Case Processing Centre - Sydney, Nova Scotia; Rosemarie Redden, Manager, Citizenship Case, Case Review, Case Management Branch; Eric Stevens, Legal Counsel, Legal Services; John Warner, Analyst, Citizenship cases, Case Review Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 1, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of Loss of Canadian Citizenship for the years 1947, 1977 and 2007.

Mark Davidson and Clark Goodman made statements.


Andrew Telegdi moved, — That the witnesses be sworn in.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 3; NAYS: 5.


Mark Davidson, Clark Goodman, Rose Anne Poirier et Rosemarie Redden answered questions.


At 5:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Samy Agha
Clerk of the Committee

2007/05/03 2:24 p.m.