Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Tuesday, October 24, 2006

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Guy André, Leon Benoit, Ron Cannan, Serge Cardin, Helena Guergis, Peter Julian, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, John Maloney, Ted Menzies and Lui Temelkovski.


Acting Members present: Richard Harris for Pierre Lemieux.


Other Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Holden, Analyst; Elizabeth Kuruvila, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Paul Robertson, Director General, North America Trade Policy; Dennis Seebach, Director, Administration and Technology Services; Carl Hartil, Deputy Director, Softwood Lumber; Brice MacGregor, Senior Trade Policy Analyst, Sofwood Lumber; John Clifford, Counsel, Trade Law Bureau. Canada Revenue Agency: Ron Hagmann, Assistant Manager, Softwood Lumber.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 18, 2006, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to impose a charge on the export of certain softwood lumber products to the United States and a charge on refunds of certain duty deposits paid to the United States, to authorize certain payments, to amend the Export and Import Permits Act and to amend other Acts as a consequence.

Paul Robertson made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/24 3:06 p.m.