Skip to main content Start of content

CC30 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Thursday, February 22, 2007

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-30 met in a televised session at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Laurie Hawn, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Laurie Hawn, Mark Holland, Brian Jean, Guy Lauzon, Marcel Lussier, Fabian Manning, David J. McGuinty, Francis Scarpaleggia, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Other Members present: Dennis Bevington.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst; Sam Banks, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Steel Producers Association: Denis Fraser, President and Chief Executive Officer, Mittal Canada Inc.. Alcan Inc.: Daniel Gagnier, Senior Vice-President, Corporate and External Affairs. Forest Products Association of Canada: Avrim Lazar, President and Chief Executive Officer. Interface Flooring Systems (Canada) Inc.: Rahumathulla Marikkar. Mining Association of Canada: Gordon Peeling, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Jim Stirling, General Manager, Environment and Energy, Dofasco Inc.. Alcan Inc.: Patrick Tobin, Director, Government and Corporate Relations. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Ron Watkins, President.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 4, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Energy Efficiency Act and the Motor Vehicle Fuel Consumption Standards Act (Canada's Clean Air Act).

Daniel Gagnier, Denis Fraser, Rahumathulla Marikkar and Gordon Peeling made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2007/02/22 12:05 p.m.