Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Thursday, May 11, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Monique Guay, Mark Holland, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Hon. Geoff Regan, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson, Alan Tonks and Mark Warawa.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Analyst; Kristen Douglas, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages: Dyane Adam, Commissioner; Johane Tremblay, Director, Legal Affairs Branch; Carol White, Interim Director, Corporate Services Branch. Public Service Integrity Office: Edward W. Keyserlingk, Public Service Integrity Officer; Jean-Daniel Bélanger, Senior Counsel. Canada Post Corporation: Moya Greene, President and Chief Executive Officer; Gerard Power, Vice-President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair calls Clause 2.


Dyane Adam made a statement and answered questions.


At 9:53 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:57 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Edward Keyserlingk made a statement and, with Jean-Daniel Bélanger, answered questions.


At 10:39 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:43 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Moya Greene made a statement and, with Gerard Power, answered questions.


At 11:24 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:27 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Pierre Poilievre moved, — That the Committee seek to complete its work on Bill C-2 before the House adjourns for summer recess in late June, 2006 and the if that work is not complete the committee will continue to sit into the summer without break until its work on Bill C-2 is done notwithstanding the adjournment of Parliament.


Benoît Sauvageau moved, — That the motion be amended by replacing the words “the Committee will continue to sit into the summer without break until its work on Bill C 2 is done, notwithstanding the adjournment of Parliament”, with the words “the Committee will continue its work until June 30, 2006, and then adjourn until the first Monday in August 2006, which is August 7, if necessary, notwithstanding Parliament’s summer recess”.


After debate, the question was put on the amendment and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 6.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the amendment was negatived.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.


At 11:55 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006-05-12 10:31 a.m.