Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 11
Monday, May 29, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Blaine Calkins, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Carole Lavallée, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Pierre Poilievre, Benoît Sauvageau, Joy Smith, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Analyst; Nancy Holmes, Analyst.


Witnesses: Imagine Canada: Teri A. Kirk, Vice-President, Public Policy and Government Relations. Public Affairs Association of Canada: Elaine Flis, President; Chris Benedetti, Past President. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: David Stewart-Patterson, Executive Vice President; John Dillon, Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs and General Counsel.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair calls Clause 2.


Teri Kirk made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:17 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Elaine Flis made a statement and, with Chris Benedetti, answered questions.


David Stewart-Patterson made a statement and, with John Dillon, answered questions.


By unanimous consent, the Committee agreed to extend the sitting by 7 minutes.


At 5:14 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006/06/05 2:35 p.m.