Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Tuesday, June 14, 2005

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair, John Maloney, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Roy Cullen, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Richard Marceau, Anita Neville, Judy Sgro, Myron Thompson and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Rob Moore for Garry Breitkreuz, Robert Vincent for Serge Ménard and Randy White for Vic Toews.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, Principal.


Witnesses: Canadian Society of Forensic Science: Wayne Kenneth Jeffery, Chair, Drugs and Driving Committee, Vancouver Forensic Laboratory. Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators: Kwei Quaye, Chair, Strategy to Reduce Impaired Driving. Criminal Lawyers' Association: Michael Lomer, Representative.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 15, 2004, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-16, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (impaired driving) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:41 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:42 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That pursuant to Standing Order 108, there be established a subcommittee composed of one (1) member of each recognized party in the House plus one (1) Chair, with the mandate to examine the process for appointments to the federal judiciary and make recommendations for reform, with the primary goal of eliminating political partisanship from the process, and that the Committee report back to the House by October 31, 2005.


At 10:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/06/22 3:57 p.m.