Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Monday, May 16, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Hon. Brenda Chamberlain, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Ruby Dhalla, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Rob Merrifield and Hon. Robert Thibault.


Acting Members present: Bernard Bigras for Réal Ménard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Truehope Nutritional Support Ltd.: Anthony Stephan, Cofounder. Synergy Group of Canada: David Hardy, Cofounder. As an Individual: Debra Oxby.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 9, 2005, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-420, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Orders 110 and 111, the Committee examine the certificate of nomination of Alan Bernstein to the position of President of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, as referred to the Committee on Friday, April 22, 2005; and that this meeting with Dr. Bernstein be added to the agenda for the meeting to take place on Thursday, May 19, 2005.


At 5:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005-05-17 3:20 p.m.