Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 38
Thursday, May 5, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Hon. Brenda Chamberlain, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Ruby Dhalla, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Réal Ménard, Rob Merrifield and Michael John Savage.


Other Members present: Pat Martin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst; Sebastian Spano, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Philip Waddington, Director general, Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch; Mary L'Abbé, Co-Chair, Trans Fat Task Force and Director, Bureau of Nutritional Sciences, Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch; Paul Mayers, Acting Director General, Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch. Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada: Sally Brown, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 9, 2005, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-420, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act.

Philip Waddington made a statement and answered questions.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing session on the membership and terms of reference of the Trans Fat Task Force.

Sally Brown and Paul Mayers made statements and, with Mary L'Abbé, answered questions.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005/05/06 12:41 p.m.