Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 98
Tuesday, October 18, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:03 a.m. this day, at the Hyatt Regency, Plaza B & C, Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté and Jean Crowder for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: BC Transit: Steve New, Senior Vice-President, Municipal Systems Program; Ron Harmer, Vice-President, Technical Services. Canadian Federation of Students - British Columbia Component: Lisa MacLeod, Chairperson; Scott Payne, National Executive Representative. Early Childhood Educators of British Columbia: Diane Tannahill, President; Kathy Hart, Director of Personnel. Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Gloria Kovach, First Vice-President, Councillor, City of Guelph; James Knight, Chief Executive Officer. First Call: BC Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition: Stephen Kerstetter, Member, Co-ordinating committee; Adrienne Montani, Co-ordinator, Community mobilization. University Colleges of British Columbia Consortium: Robert E. Buchan, Executive Director; Skip Triplett, President, Kwantlen University College.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Steve New, Lisa MacLeod, Diane Tannahill, Kathy Hart, Gloria Kovach, Stephen Kerstetter and Robert E. Buchan made statements and, with James Knight, answered questions.


At 10:35 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 8:10 a.m.