Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 89
Thursday, October 6, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:38 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté and Richard Harris for Monte Solberg.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Association of Retired Teachers: Pierre Drouin, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Medical Students: Nick Rose, Representative, Emergency Department, University of British Columbia. Canadian Association of Interns and Residents: Ryan Wright, Representative, Doctor and Family physician. Canadian Council for Tobacco Control: Bob Walsh, Executive Director; Jocelyne Koepke, Operations Manager. Episodic Disabilities Network: Eileen McKee, Project Manager. VON Canada: Judith Shamian, President and Chief Executive Officer. World Vision Canada: Kathy Vandergrift, Director of Policy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Pierre Drouin, Nick Rose, Ryan Wright, Bob Walsh, Eileen McKee, Judith Shamian and Kathy Vandergrift made statements and answered questions.


At 11:09 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:32 p.m.