Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 87
Wednesday, October 5, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté, Christiane Gagnon for Yvan Loubier, Richard Harris for Charlie Penson and Bev Oda for Brian Pallister.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Campaign Against Child Poverty: Caroline Di Giovanni, Director; Simon Rosenblum, Director; Gerald Vandezande, Director. Canadian Council for International Cooperation: Gerry Barr, President and Chief Executive Officer. Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada: Monica Lysack, Executive Director; Lynell Anderson, Project Director. Family Services à la famille Ottawa: Peter Crosby, Member, Board of Directors; Rosemary Laurin, Member Board of Director. National Children's Alliance: Alfred Gay, Policy Analyst, National Association of Friendship Centres; Janis Douglas, Manager, Capacity Development and Community Affairs, Boys and Girls Club of Canada. Canadian Co-operative Association: Carol Hunter, Executive Director; Dave Sitaram, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Caroline Di Giovanni, Simon Rosenblum, Gerald Vandezande, Gerry Barr, Monica Lysack, Lynell Anderson, Peter Crosby, Rosemary Laurin, Afred Gay, Janis Douglas and Carol Hunter made statements and answered questions.


At 5:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:23 p.m.