Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 85
Tuesday, October 4, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:38 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti and Monte Solberg.


Acting Members present: Bernard Bigras for Yvan Loubier, Joe Comartin for Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Christiane Gagnon for Yvan Loubier and Joy Smith for Charlie Penson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: National Council of Women of Canada : Catharine Laidlaw-Sly, Past President; Karen Dempsey, Vice President. Social Planning Council of Ottawa: Helen Saravanamuttoo, Treasurer; Jenny Gullen, President. Sport Matters Group: Ian Bird, Senior Leader; Victor Lachance, Chair. Action Canada for Population and Development: Katherine McDonald, Executive Director; Dina Epale, Public Affairs Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Karen Dempsey, Helen Saracanamuttoo, Jenny Gullen, Ian Bird,Victor Lachance, Katherine MacDonald and Dina Epale made statements and, with Catharine Laidlaw-Sly, answered questions.


At 5:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:20 p.m.