Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 75
Thursday, June 16, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in camera at 11:45 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Paul Crête for Yvan Loubier and Guy Lauzon for Rona Ambrose.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Brian Ernewein, Director, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Len Farber, General Director, Tax Policy Branch.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the four (4) consultants on the Federal Fiscal Forecasting will provide to the clerk of the Committee by Friday july 15, 2005, their Report on the first exercice based on the National Accounts released on May 31, 2005. The reports will be translated and then, made public.


At 12:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study on the Tax Treaty between Canada and Barbados.

Len Farber made a statement and, with Brian Ernewein, answered questions.


At 1:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/06/17 1:38 p.m.