Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 144
Friday, November 4, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 10:15 a.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Bev Oda for Brian Pallister.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Arts Coalition: Robert H. Thomson, Actor and Director, Artistic Director of Shakespeare Works; Mark Jamison, Member, Steering Committee and Chief Executive Officer of Magazines Canada. Canadian Film and Television Production Association: Stephen Ellis, Member, Board of Directors; Guy Mayson, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Museums Association: John G. McAvity, Executive Director; Cal White, Chairman. Centre for Social Justice: Brigitte Kitchen, Associate Professor, School of Social Work, York University; Murray Cooke, Research Associate. Chinese Canadian National Council: Victor Wong, National Executive Director; Christine Li, National Executive. Council for Business and the Arts in Canada: James D. Fleck, Chairman; Billie Bridgman, President and Chief Executive Officer. Literary Press Group of Canada: Alana Wilcox, Chair, Board of Directors; Ronda Kellington, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Robert H. Thomson, Stephen Ellis, Guy Mayson, John McAvity, Cal White, Brigitte Kitchen, Murray Cooke, Victor Wong, James D. Fleck, Billie Bridgman and Alana Wilcox made statements and, with Mark Jamison, answered questions.


At 11:38 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/04 3:45 p.m.