Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Tuesday, November 16, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:30 a.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Richard Harris for Monte Solberg.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Aerospace Industries Association of Canada: Peter Boag, President. Canadian Printing Industries Association: Pierre Boucher, President . Cement Association of Canada: Angela Burton, Director, Government Affairs; François R. Lacroix, President. Direct Sellers Association of Canada: Ross Creber, President; Jack W. Millar, Member of the Board. Canadian Automobile Association: David Flewelling, President. BIOTECanada: Janet Lambert, President; John D. Mendlein, Chairman and CEO, Affinium Pharmaceuticals. Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association: Mark Nantais, President. Hotel Association of Canada: Anthony P. Pollard, President. Canadian Home Builders' Association: David Wassmandorf, First Vice-President; Mary Lawson, President. Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs: Patrick Burke, Fire Chief, Niagara Falls. Association of Canadian Travel Agencies: Marc-André Charlebois, President. Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President. Canadian Real Estate Association: Pierre Beauchamp, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Printing Industries Association: Bob Kadis, Chair, Senior Vice-President of Finance & Administration, CPIA Government Affairs Committee.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Anthony P. Pollard, Patrick Burke, Marc-André Charlebois, Michael Atkinson, Pierre Beauchamp, Mary Lawson, David Wassmandorf made statements and answered questions.


At 11:02 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:07 a.m., the sitting resumed.




Peter Boag, Pierre Boucher, Robert Skadis, François Lacroix, Ross Creber, Mark Nantais, Janet Lambert and John Mendlein made statements and answered questions.


At 12:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 10:59 a.m.