Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 113
Monday, October 24, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Françoise Boivin, Mark Holland, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Odina Desrochers for Robert Bouchard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Conference of Defence Associations: Richard J. Evraire, Lieutenant-general retired; Howard Marsh, Senior Defence Analyst. Canadian Medical Association: Ruth Collins-Nakai, President; William Tholl, Secretary General and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Public Health Association: Elinor Wilson, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Coalition for Public Health in the 21st Century: Gordon Dittberner, Senior Advisor, Veterinary Affairs, Canadian Veterinary Medical Association. Canadian Real Estate Association: Pierre Beauchamp, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Urban Transit Association: Michael W. Roschlau, President and Chief Executive Officer; Robert Olivier, Chair, Executive Director, Planning and Operating Support, Société de transport de Montréal. Credit Union Central of Canada: Joanne De Laurentiis, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Richard J. Evraire, Ruth Collins-Nakai, Elinor Wilson, Gordon Dittberner, Pierre Beauchamp, Michael W. Roschlau, Robert Olivier and Joanne De Laurentiis made statements and, with Howard Marsh, answered questions.


At 5:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/21 4:46 p.m.