Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, October 18, 2005

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics met at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Navdeep Bains, Odina Desrochers, Ken Epp, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Mario Laframboise, Derek Lee, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, Russ Powers, David Tilson and Paul Zed.


Acting Members present: Richard Harris for David Chatters.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas, Analyst; Nancy Holmes, Analyst. House of Commons: Carmen DePape, Committee Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Derek Lee, it was agreed, — That David Chatters be elected Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Marlene Jennings, it was agreed, — That Derek Lee be elected as first Vice-Chair of the Committee.


Mario Laframboise moved, — That Pat Martin be elected as second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.


Derek Lee took the Chair.


On motion of Tom Lukiwski, it was agreed, — That this Committee recognizes the Chair David Chatters is unable to be present in the House for an indeterminate period of time, and with the consent of Mr. Chatters, and keeping with the spirit of Standing Order 106(2), hereby appoints David Tilson, as Acting Chair, who shall be vested with all the powers and authority of the Chair; this appointment shall expire upon the return of David Chatters or on December 31, 2005, whichever comes first; this appointment may be extended by the Committee, by resolution and with the consent of Mr. Chatters; and the Clerk of the Committee shall advise the Clerk of the House of this Resolution.


At 11:12 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bernard G. Fournier
Clerk of the Committee

2005/10/31 10:38 a.m.