Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Thursday, April 14, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 11:06 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Denis Paradis, Yasmin Ratansi, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks, Jeff Watson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell for Hon. Bryon Wilfert and Paul Crête for Bernard Bigras.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Stéphane Dion, Minister of the Environment.


Witnesses: Department of the Environment: Cassie Doyle, Associate Deputy Minister; Glynnis French, Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources and Service Innovation; Mike Beale, Acting Director General, Economic and Regulatory Affairs Directorate, Policy Integration. Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency: Jean-Claude Bouchard, President. Parks Canada Agency: Alan Latourelle, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2005-2006: Environment, Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25; Office of Infrastructure of Canada, Votes 1 and 5; Privy Council, Vote 25, referred to the Committee on Friday, February 25, 2005.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


By unanimous consent, the Chair called Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 under ENVIRONMENT.


Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 under ENVIRONMENT carried.


By unanimous consent, the Chair called Votes 1 and 5 under OFFICE OF INFRASTRUCTURE OF CANADA.


Votes 1 and 5 under OFFICE OF INFRASTRUCTURE OF CANADA carried.


The Chair called Vote 25 under PRIVY COUNCIL.


Bob Mills moved, — That Vote 25 under PRIVY COUNCIL in the amount of $ 4,592,000 be reduced by $ 40,000, less the amount voted in Interim Supply.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Brian Jean, Bob Mills, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Jeff Watson — 5; NAYS: Nathan Cullen, David J. McGuinty, Denis Paradis, Bryon Wilfert — 4.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 under ENVIRONMENT, Votes 1 and 5 under OFFICE OF INFRASTRUCTURE OF CANADA and Vote 25 under PRIVY COUNCIL, as reduced, less the amounts voted in Interim Supply, to the House.


At 1:11 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005-04-19 3:15 p.m.