Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Tuesday, March 8, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 11:12 a.m. this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, Bob Mills, Hon. Denis Paradis, Yasmin Ratansi, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks, Jeff Watson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Francis Scarpaleggia for David J. McGuinty.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Pierre R. Alvarez, President; Rick Hyndman, Senior Policy Advisor, Climate Change. Canadian Energy Pipeline Association: David MacInnis, President. Coal Association of Canada: Allan Wright, Executive Director; George White, Senior Energy Advisor. TransAlta Corporation: Bob Page, Vice President, Sustainable Development; Don Wharton, Director, Offsets and Strategy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee resumed its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Part II - A Lower Carbon Energy Supply.

Pierre R. Alvarez, David MacInnis, Allan Wright, Bob Page and Don Wharton made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Bob Mills moved, — That, due to the fact Mr. Glen Murray has insufficient experience in environment related fields or study, this committee calls on the Prime Minister to withdraw Mr. Murray’s appointment to the National Roundtable on the Environment and the Economy.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, Bob Mills, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Jeff Watson — 7; NAYS: Denis Paradis, Yasmin Ratansi, Francis Scarpaleggia, Bryon Wilfert — 4.


At 1:10 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/17 1:33 p.m.