Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Thursday, December 9, 2004

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Denis Paradis, Yasmin Ratansi, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks, Jeff Watson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Associate Members present: Francis Scarpaleggia.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy: Gene Nyberg, Acting Executive Director and CEO; Jean Bélanger, Chair, Ecological Fiscal Reform Task Force; Alex Wood, Policy Advisor.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee commenced its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Fiscal Reform and Environment.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:50 a.m., the Committee proceeded to discuss matters related to Committee business.


It was agreed, — That, when the appointment of a new Chief Executive Officer of the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy is referred to the Committee, pursuant to Standing Orders 32(6) and 111(4), that the Committee call the appointee to appear.


At 10:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Stephen Knowles
Committee Clerk

2005/03/01 9:43 a.m.