Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Tuesday, February 15, 2005

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 11:09 a.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Vice-Chair, Jeremy Harrison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, André Bellavance, Bernard Cleary, Jeremy Harrison, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Pat Martin, Jim Prentice, Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand and Roger Valley.


Other Members present: Hon. Roy Cullen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst.


Witnesses: Aboriginal Healing Foundation: Michael DeGagné, Executive Director; Wayne Spear, Senior Communications Officer. National Residential School Survivor Society: Ted Quewezance, Interim Chairman . Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association: Michael A. Cachagee, Director. Indian Residential School Survivors Society: Robert Joseph, Chief. National Consortium of Residential School Survivors' Counsel: Craig Brown. David Paterson Law Corporation: David Paterson, Lawyer. Cohen Highley LLP: Russell Raikes, Lawyer, Litigation Department.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) the Committee commenced the study on the Effectiveness of the Government Alternative Dispute Resolution Process for Resolution of Indian Residential Schools Claims.

Michel DeGagné made a statement.


At 11:14 a.m., Nancy Karetak-Lindell took the Chair.


Ted Quewezance, Michael A. Cachagee and Chief Robert Joseph made statements and, with Michael DeGagné and Wayne Spear, answered questions.


At 12:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


David Peterson, Russell Raikes and Craig Brown made statements and, answered questions.


At 1:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Philippe Brochu
Clerk of the Committee

2005/02/16 3:42 p.m.