Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Wednesday, March 24, 2004

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 362 East Block, the Chair, Charles L.Caccia, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Bernard Bigras, Charles L. Caccia, Joe Comartin, John Godfrey, Charles Hubbard, Serge Marcil, Bob Mills, Anita Neville, Julian Reed and Paul Szabo.


Other Members present: John Herron.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Pembina Institute: Matthew Bramley, Director, Climate Change; Johanne Whitmore, Policy Analyst, Climate Change Program.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of the implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Large Final Emitters.

Matthew Bramley made an opening statement and answered questions.


Bob Mills moved, — That given the importance and impact of the Kyoto Protocol on Canada and the entire world, and given that this committee has never studied the science behind the Kyoto Protocol, that several prominent climate (and other related fields) scientists from both sides of the issue be invited to testify on the science behind the Kyoto Protocol before the Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development at a mutually agreeable time and date.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 2; NAYS: 6.


At 5:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2004/03/25 1:46 p.m.