Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 7

Wednesday, December 11, 2002

The Standing Committee on Transport met in camera at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Member(s) of the Committee present: Rex Barnes, John Cannis, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Roger Gallaway, André Harvey, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, Robert Lanctôt, James Moore, Marcel Proulx, Raymond Simard, Lynne Yelich.

Acting Member(s) present: Ken Epp for Jim Gouk;  Suzanne Tremblay for Robert Lanctôt;  Massimo Pasetti for Alex Shepherd;  Rodger Cuzner for Alex Shepherd.

In attendance:  From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee met, in camera, to consider its future business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, - That the Subcommittee on Marine Transportation established on Tuesday, December 10, 2002 be composed of the Chair (Roger Gallaway,) (the parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Transport, André Harvey,) ((three) additional Liberal Members,) (one) Canadian Alliance Member, (one) Bloc Québécois Member, (one) New Democratic Party member, and (one) Progressive Conservative Member to be named by the Chair after the usual consultations.

By unanimous consent, it was proposed, - That the Standing Committee on Transport urges the Government to suspend the Air Travellers Security Charge.  And that no future Security charges be implemented without the proper consultation of all appropriate stakeholders and Parliamentary Committees.

After debate, the following amendment was moved:

-         That the motion be amended by deleting all the words after the word “to” and by replacing them with the following: “implement an immediate and substantial reduction of the Air Travellers Security Charge.”

After debate, the amendment was agreed to by a show of hands.

The question was put on the motion as amended, and it was agreed to by a show of hands and it reads as follows:

-         That the Standing Committee on Transport urges the Government to implement an immediate and substantial reduction of the Air Travellers Security Charge.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, - That the Chair be instructed to report to the House on Thursday, December 12, 2002, the findings of the Committee on its study on the Air Transport Security Charge and that the motion agreed to by the Committee constitute the main recommendation of the First Report of the Committee to the House.

At 4:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee