Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Thursday, October 9, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Larry Bagnell, Joe Comuzzi, Roger Gallaway, Mario Laframboise, James Moore, Yolande Thibeault and Lynne Yelich.


Acting Members present: Joe Fontana for Stan Keyes and Joseph Volpe for John Cannis.


Witnesses: Air Georgian clba Air Alliance: Paul Mulrooney, President, Air Georgian Limited. Air Transat: George Petsikas, Director, Government and Industry Affairs.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 25, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act, to enact the VIA Rail Canada Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Paul Mulrooney made an opening statement and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Joseph Volpe, it was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $ 100,400.00, in relation to the study of Bill C-26 for witnesses expenses be adopted and that the Chair present the said budget to the Liaison Committee.


At 9:55 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:02 a.m., the sitting resumed.


James Moore took the Chair.


George Petsikas made an opening statement and answered questions.


At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2003/10/09 1:33 p.m.