Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 28

Wednesday, May 14, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Rex Barnes, John Cannis, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise and James Moore.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Forest Products Association of Canada: David W. Church, Director, Transportation and Recycling; Allan Foran, Partner - Legal Counsel, Aikins, MacAulay & Thorvaldson; Jim Quart, General Manager, Transportation, Norampac Inc.. From the Canadian Bar Association: John D. Bodrug, Chair, Reviewable Matters and Private Actions Committee, National Competition Law Section; Michael L. Phelan, Secretary-Treasurer, National Air and Space Law Section; Tamra L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 25, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act, to enact the VIA Rail Canada Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 10, 2003, Meeting No. 20).

David W. Church and Jim Quart made opening statements and, with Allan Foran, answered questions.

Stan Keyes gave notice of a motion to be considered at the next meeting of the Committee, on pilotage on the St-Lawrence Seaway and the Great Lakes.

Tamra L. Thomson, Michael L. Phelan and John D. Bodrug made opening statements and answered questions.

At 5:12 p.m., John Cannis took the Chair.

At 5:22 p.m., Joe Comuzzi resumed on the Chair.

At 6:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee