Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 22

Monday, April 28, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met in camera at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Larry Bagnell, Joe Comuzzi, Liza Frulla, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, James Moore, Marcel Proulx.

Acting Member(s) present: Judy Wasylycia-Leis for Bev Desjarlais.

Other Member present: Joe Fontana.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to examine its future business.

It was agreed, -- That the travel budget as submitted/or as amended be approved by the Committee and that the Chair be authorised to present it to the Liaison Committee at its next meeting for approval.  That the Chair be also authorized to seek approval of the House through House Leaders for the Committee to travel to the cities as indicated on the Travel Budget.

And that the dates appearing on the Budget submission are tentative, pending approval by the Liaison Committee and the House’s authorization to travel.

It was agreed, -- That the witnesses as selected by the Committee constitute the basis of people or groups to be invited to make a presentation before the Committee.  Any subsequent name should only be added to the approved list with the approval of the Chair and the Vice-Chairs.


It was agreed, -- That in relation to the examination of Bill C-26, and due to the large number of witnesses expected, the time allocated to each scheduled hearing be of a maximum of 45 minutes, divided as follows: 7 minutes for the presentation, 7 minutes for the first 3 members, 5 minutes for the other remaining 3 members, 2 minutes to be allocated at the discretion of the Chair.

At 4:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee