Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 20

Thursday, April 10, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:15 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Larry Bagnell, Rex Barnes, John Cannis, Joe Comuzzi, Liza Frulla, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, Robert Lanctôt, James Moore, Pat O'Brien, Marcel Proulx and Lynne Yelich.

Acting Member present: Wendy Lill for Bev Desjarlais.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Appearing: From the House of Commons: Hon. David Collenette, Minister of Transport.

Witnesses: From the Department of Transport: Louis Ranger, Deputy Minister; Jean Patenaude, Director General, Strategic Policy.

The Order of Reference from the House dated Tuesday, March 25, 2003, being now read as follows:

ORDERED, -- That Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act, to enact the VIA Rail Canada Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Transport.

Minister David Collenette made an opening statement and, with Louis Ranger, answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee