Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 19

Thursday, April 10, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:36 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Larry Bagnell, Rex Barnes, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise and Lynne Yelich.

Other Member present: Shawn Murphy.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher and June Dewetering, Principal Analysts

Witnesses: From the Department of Human Resources Development: Catherine Cody, Associate Director General, Labour Market Directorate; Gordon McFee, Acting Director General, Insurance Policy. From the Air North: Murray Leitch, Vice President Legal. From the Canadian Tourism Commission: Thomas Penney, Vice-President, Planning and Product Development (Industry Portfolio). From the Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Randy M. Williams, President and CEO. From the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers in Canada: Louis Erlichman, Canadian Research Director; Dave Ritchie, Canadian Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), Examination of the viability of the Airline Industry in Canada.

Catherine Cody and Gordon McFee made an opening statement and answered questions. 

Murray Leitch made an opening statement and answered questions.

Thomas Penney made an opening statement and answered questions.

Randy Williams made an opening statement and answered questions.

Dave Ritchie made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 12:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee