Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 34

Tuesday, April 8, 2003

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at Sussex at the Quality Inn at 9:00 a.m. this day, in the Banquet Room, the Chair, Hon. Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Chuck Cadman, Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Richard Marceau, The Hon. Andy Scott, Vic Toews.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas, analyst.

Witnesses: As Individual: Jay Guptill; Heather L. Hughes; Klaus Muller. From the Canadian Baptist Ministries: Lois P. Mitchell, Public Witness and Social Concerns Facilitator; Rev. Harry Gardner, Executive Minister, Convention of Atlantic Baptist Churches. From the Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbian and Gay Persons (Canada): Eldon Hay, President; Janet Hammock. From the Rothesay Baptist Church: Heather Debouver, Member, Social Action Committee. As Individual: Susan Marsden; Beatrice Salsman. From the Christian Legal Fellowship of Canada: David W. McMath, Member. From the Atlantic Canada Association of Free Will Baptists: Rev. Jeff Crabtree. As Individual: David Jenkins; Rev. Ted Newell, Pastor, Jemseg Baptist Church; Marla Kavalak; Michelle Livingston. From the Centenary-Queen Square United Church: Robert L. Johnson, Minister. As Individual: Wayne Toole; Art Toole. From Lesbiennes de Moncton Lesbians: Jacinthe Leblanc. As Individual: Grace Getty, Professor, Director of the Graduate Program, Coordinator of the SWAT Peer Education Program, Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick. From the Christian Action Federation of New Brunswick Inc.: Mary E. Thurrott, Executive Director. As Individual: Carl Trickey; James Crooks. From Egale Canada (Equality for Gays and Lesbians Everywhere): Donald Tabor, Representative (male), Atlantic Region. As Individual: Michèle L. Caron, Professor, Faculty of Law, Moncton University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study on marriage and the legal recognition of same-sex unions.

At 9:00 a.m., Jay Guptill, Heather L. Hughes and Klaus Muller made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:26 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:30 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Lois P. Mitchell, Rev. Harry Gardner, Eldon Hay and Janet Hammock made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:25 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:30 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Heather Debouver, Susan Marsden, Beatrice Salsman and David W. McMath made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:20 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:26 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Rev. Jeff Crabtree, David Jenkins and Rev. Ted Newell made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:25 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marla Kavalak, Michelle Livingston, Robert L. Johnson, Wayne Toole and Art Toole made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jacinthe Leblanc, Grace Getty and Mary E. Thurrott made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Carl Trickey, James Crooks, Donald Tabor and Michèle L. Caron made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The following individuals made a brief statement: Sheila Watters, Mario Bourgeois, Kim Furlotte, Allison Comeau, Haïfa Miller, Glenn McAllister, Kimberley Gilroy, Greg Dabourn, Pierre Bourgeois, Rév. Brenda M. McKnight, Danny Jardine, Wendy Sweet et James Leblanc.

At 5:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Patrice Martin





Clerk of the Committee