Skip to main content
Start of content

HAFF Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 47

Thursday, May 29, 2003

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Peter Adams, presiding.

Members of the Committee present:  Peter Adams, Marlene Catterall, Yvon Godin, Joe Jordan, Carolyn Parrish, Geoff Regan, John Reynolds, Jacques Saada and Benoît Sauvageau.

Acting Members present:  Nancy Karetak-Lindell for Peter Adams; Jeannot Castonguay for Roger Cuzner; Paul Macklin for Lynn Myers; Paddy Torsney for Guy St-Julien; Ted White for Dale Johnston; Joe Comartin for Yvon Godin (at 4:17 p.m.)

Other Member present:  Stan Keyes.

In attendance:  From the Library of Parliament:  James Robertson, Principal; John M. Wright, Research Assistant.

Witnesses:  From the Liberal Party of Canada:  Stephen LeDrew, President; Jack Graham, Vice-President (English); Benjamin Hutzel, Chief Financial Officer; Michael Hillman, Vice-President (British Columbia); Michael Eizenga, Secretary-Treasurer.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 18, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Income Tax Act (political financing).  (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 3, 2003, Meeting No. 31.)

The witnesses each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Hall

Clerk of the Committee