Skip to main content
Start of content

HAFF Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 43

Thursday, May 15, 2003

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met at 11:08 a.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Vice-Chair, Carolyn Parrish, presiding.

Members of the Committee present:  Rick Borotsik, Marlene Catterall, Rodger Cuzner, Michel Guimond, Joe Jordan, Carolyn Parrish, Geoff Regan, John Reynolds and Jacques Saada.

Acting Members present:  John O’Reilly for Peter Adams; Bob Speller for Lynn Myers; Larry Bagnell for Guy St-Julien; Rick Casson for Dale Johnston; Michel Gauthier for Benoît Sauvageau; Dick Proctor for Yvon Godin.

In attendance:  From the Library of Parliament:  James Robertson, Principal; John M. Wright, Research Assistant.  From the Committees Directorate:  Rémi Bourgault, Committee Clerk.

Appearing:  Hon. Don Boudria, Minister of State and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons.

Witnesses:  From the Privy Council Office:  Michèle René de Cotret, Senior Privy Council Officer/Counsel, Legislation and House Planning/Counsel.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 18, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Income Tax Act (political financing).  (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 3, 2003, Meeting No. 31.)

The Committee resumed consideration of Clause 1.

The Minister made a statement and, with Michèle René de Cotret, answered questions.

At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Hall

Clerk of the Committee