Skip to main content
Start of content

HAFF Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 36

Wednesday, April 30, 2003

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in televised session at 5:37 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Peter Adams, presiding.

Members of the Committee present:  Peter Adams, Rick Borotsik, Marlene Catterall, Rodger Cuzner, Michel Guimond, Joe Jordan, Carolyn Parrish, Geoff Regan, Jacques Saada and Guy St-Julien.

Acting Members present:  Ted White for Dale Johnston; Michel Gauthier for Benoît Sauvageau; Dick Proctor for Yvon Godin.

In attendance:  From the Library of Parliament:  James Robertson, Principal; John M. Wright, Research Officer.  From the Committees Directorate:  Rémi Bourgault, Committee Clerk.

Witnesses:  From the Bloc Québécois:  Lorraine Godin, Chief Agent.  From the Canadian Action Party:  Paul Hellyer, Party Leader.  From the Canadian Alliance:  Jerry Rice, Secretary; Thomas Jarmyn, past national counsellor.  From the Communist Party of Canada:  Miguel Figueroa, Party Leader.  From The Green Party of Canada:  Julian West, Organizing Chair.  From the Liberal Party of Canada:  Terrance M. Mercer, National Director; Edward Goldenberg, Senior Policy Adviser, Office of the Prime Minister.  From the Marijuana Party:  Hugô St-Onge, Chief Agent.  From the Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada:  Anna Di Carlo, Secretary.  From the New Democratic Party:  Chris Watson, Federal Secretary; Dr. Éric Hébert, Assistant Federal Secretary.  From the National Alternative Party of Canada:  Gilles Lavoie, Party Leader.  From the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada:  Irving Gerstein, Chair, PC Canada Fund; Paul Lepsoe, Legal Counsel.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 18, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Income Tax Act (political financing).  (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 3, 2003, Meeting No. 31.)

The Committee resumed consideration of Clause 1.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 9:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Hall

Clerk of the Committee