Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 24

Thursday, April 3, 2003

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 11:10 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Paul Steckle, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: David L. Anderson, Gérard Binet, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, Howard Hilstrom, Rick Laliberte, John Maloney, Louis Plamondon, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Members present: Bernard Bigras for Marcel Gagnon; Murray Calder for Bob Speller; Judy Wasylycia-Leis for Dick Proctor.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, analyst; Jean-Denis Fréchette, analyst.

Witnesses: From the Grain Growers of Canada: Don McCabe, Chairman, Environment Committee; Don Kenny, Director and Member of the Executive Committee; Cam Dahl, Executive Director. From the Canadian Wheat Board: Ken Ritter, Chair, Board of Directors; Bill Nicholson, Director, district 9; Patty Rosher, Program Manager, Market Development, Sales and Market Development. From the Canadian National Millers Association: Gordon Harrison, President.

Pursuant to the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 7, 2002, the Committee proceeded to the notice of motion of Marcel Gagnon.


Mr. Plamondon, moved, - That the report by the inter-departmental group (Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food, Department of Finance, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency) set up following the demonstration by farmers in the early fall in Chicoutimi be tabled with the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:


Yeas: David L. Anderson, Bernard Bigras, Howard Hilstrom and Louis Plamondon – 4


Nays: Gérard Binet, Murray Calder, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, John Maloney and Rose-Marie Ur. - 6


Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of the approval of genetically modified wheat and its effect on Canadian agriculture.


Don McCabe and Don Kenny made opening statements and with the other witness, answered questions.


Ken Ritter made an opening statement and with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 12:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gordon Harrison made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Bibiane Ouellette

Clerk of the Committee