Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 40

Thursday, November 1st, 2001

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:34 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Bill Blaikie, Chuck Cadman, Paul DeVillers, Brian Fitzpatrick, Peter MacKay, John Maloney, John McKay, Lynn Myers, Stephen Owen, Denis Paradis, Andy Scott, Kevin Sorenson, Vic Toews, Pierrette Venne.

Associate Member present: Derek Lee.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, senior analyst.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Vincent Westwick, Co-Chair, Law Amendments Committee; Gwen Boniface, President; Michel Sarazin, Chief, Montreal Urban Community Policy Service and Vice-President of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police. From the Canadian Police Association: Mike Niebudek, Vice-President; Grant Obst, President; David Griffin, Executive Officer. From the National Association of Professional Police: Brian Adkins, President. As Individual: Leo Knight.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, October 18, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the Official Secrets Act, the Canada Evidence Act, the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) Act and other Acts, and to enact measures respecting the registration of charities in order to combat terrorism (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, October 18, 2001, Meeting No. 29).

Gwen Boniface, Michel Sarazin, Mike Niebudek, Grant Obst, Brian Adkins and Leo Knight each made statements and, with Vincent Westwick and David Griffin, answered questions.


At 9:44 a.m., the Vice-Chair Chuck Cadman assumed the Chair.


At 10:32 a.m., the Chair Andy Scott assumed the Chair.


Pursuant to the Committee's decision of Tuesday, October 16 2001 in regards to the creation of the Sub-Committee on National Security, John McKay moved, - That the Sub-Committee on National Security be composed of the following membership: Bill Blaikie, Marlene Jennings Derek Lee as Chair, Lynn Myers, Peter Mackay, David Pratt, Kevin Sorenson, Vic Toews, Pierrette Venne, Bryon Wilfert and one Member to be named at a future date.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to by unanimous consent.

At 12:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Catherine Barrette / Marie Danielle Vachon




Clerks of the Committee