Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 83

Thursday, February 28, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:10 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Yvan Loubier, Lorne Nystrom, Pauline Picard, Bryon Wilfert.

Acting Members present: Hedy Fry for Carolyn Bennett, Julian Reed for Maurizio Bevilacqua, Raymonde Folco for Nick Discepola, Maria Minna for Albina Guarnieri, Gérard Binet for Sophia Leung, Mark Eyking for Shawn Murphy, Sarkis Assadourian for Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Acting Principal, Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officer.

Witnesses: As an Individual: Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, M.P.. From the Department of Finance: Serge Nadeau, Director, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch; Lise Potvin, Senior Chief, Employment and Investment, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 16, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-209, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (Public Transportation Costs) (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, February 27, 2002, Meeting No. 82).

The witnesses made a presentation and answered questions.

At 10:24 o’clock, the sitting was suspended.

At 10:30 o’clock, the sitting resumed.

At 10:35 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee