Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 53

Tuesday, October 16, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at the Toronto Marriott Eaton Centre Hotel at 1:36 p.m., the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Carolyn Bennett, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Albina Guarnieri, Jason Kenney, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom, Monte Solberg.


In attendance: From Committees Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Clerk. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher, Marion G. Wrobel, Senior Analyst.


Witnesses: From the National Housing and Homeless Network and Toronto Disaster Relief: Michael Shapcott, Co-Chair, NHHN; Musonda Kidd, Administrative  Assistant, Toronto Disaster Relief. From the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority: Craig Mather, Chief Administrative Officer; Peter Krause, Chairman of the Board, Conservation Ontario; Dick Hunter, General Manager, Conservation Ontario. From the Urban Development Institute -Ontario: Neil H. Rodgers, President; Paul Mondell, Chair. From the GO Transit: W.M. (Bill) Jenkins, Director; Gary McNeil, Managing Diretor. From the Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives: Maylanne Maybee, Co-Chair, Canadian Social Development Program Committee of KAIROS; Dennis Howlett, Team Leader, Canadian Justice Cluster, KAIROS. From the Canadian Association of Not-for Profit RESP Dealers: Tom O'Shaughnessy, Co-Chair; Kevin Connolly, Co-Chair. From the Association of Canadian Pension Management: Priscilla Healy, Chair, Advocacy and Government Relations; Keith Ambachtsheer, President-Elect. As individual: Joseph Polito. From the National Professional Association: William A. Easton, Chair.


Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee continued its study of Pre-Budget Consultations.


Peter Krause, Michael Shapcott, Musonda Kidd, Paul Mondell and Bill Jenkins made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 3:10 o'clock p.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 3:18 o'clock p.m., the sitting resumed.


Keith Ambachtsheer, William A. Easton, Tom O'Shaughnessy, Kevin Connolly, Joseph Polito, Maylane Maybee and Dennis Howlett made statements and answered questions.


At 3:50 o'clock p.m., Roy Cullen took the Chair.


At 4:12 o'clock p.m., Maurizio Bevilacqua took the Chair.


At 4:36 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marc Toupin
Clerk of the Committee