Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 45

Thursday, October 4, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:33 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Rahim Jaffer, John McCallum, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher.

Witnesses: From Appraisal Institute of Canada: John Clark, President Elect. From Building and Construction Trades Department: Robert Blakely, Director of Canadian Affairs; Phil Benson, Staff Representive. From Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President; Jeff Morrison, Director of Communications. From Canadian Development Institute: Nicholas J. Patterson, Executive Director.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 83.1, the Committee continued its study on Pre-Budget Consultations.

John Clark, Robert Blakely, Michael Atkinson, Jeff Morrison and Nicholas J. Patterson made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 11:03 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee