Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 41

Tuesday, October 2, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:15 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Sophia Leung, John McCallum, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom and Pauline Picard.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher.

Witness(es): From the Canadian Consortium for Research: Dr. John C. Service, Chair; Dr. Don McDiarmid, Director of Professional Affairs. From the Canadian Dental Hygienists Association: Salmy Lavigne, President; Susan A. Ziebarth, Exective Director. From the Canadian Healthcare Association: Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, President and Chief Executive Officer.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 83(1), the Committee continued its study on Pre-Budget Consultations.

Dr. John Service, Susan A. Ziebarth and Sharon Sholzberg-Gray made statements and answered questions.

At 12:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Mike MacPherson

Committee Clerk