Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 2

Thursday, March 1st, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Pauline Picard and Lorne Nystrom.

Acting Member present: Hélène Scherrer for Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst. From Committees and Parliamentary Associations Directorate: Mike MacPherson.

Witnesses: From the INTERAC Association: Judith Wolfson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Marc-André Lacombe, Corporate Secretary and Legal Counsel; Kirkland Morris, Policy Development.

The Order of Reference dated Tuesday, February 13, 2001 was read as follows:

ORDERED - That Bill C-8, An Act to establish the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada and to amend certain Acts in relation to financial institutions, be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Finance.

The Chair called Clause 1.

Judith Wolfson made a statement and with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 12:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee