Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 102

Wednesday, May 22, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Roy Cullen, Nick Discepola, Albina Guarnieri, Richard Harris, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, The Hon. Maria Minna, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri, Bryon Wilfert.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Acting Principal, Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officers

Appearing: From the House of Commons: The Hon. Lucienne Robillard, President of the Treasury Board.

Witnesses: From the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat: Carole Swan, Associate Secretary; Richard Neville, Deputy Comptroller General. From the Business Coalition on Cost Recovery: Jayson Myers, Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters Canada & Co-Chair of the Business Coalition on Cost Recovery; Jean Szkotnicki, President, Canadian Animal Health Institute, Co-Chair of the Business Coalition on Cost Recovery; Garth Whyte, Senior Vice-President National Affairs, Canadian Federation of Independent Business; Doug Blair, President, RIAS Inc..

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee examined the Government's Policy on Cost Recovery.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:45 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jean Szkotnicki, Jason Myers and Garth Whyte made statements and, with the other witnesses answered questions.

At 5:00 p.m., Nick Discepola took the Chair.

At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Vice-Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee