Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 52

Wednesday, May 3, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Association of Canadian Travel Agents: Randall M. Williams, President; Martin Taller, General Manager, Ports of Call; Trish McTavish, Board Member. From the Canadian Association of Airline Passengers: Michael Janigan, Executive Director, Public Interest Advocacy Centre; Harry Gow, President, Transport 2000 Canada. From the Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Ann MacLean, Chair, Standing Committee on National Transportation and Communications; Richard Robert, Policy Analist. From the "Les gens de l'air du Québec": Serge Martel, President; Antonin Alain, Vice President. From the Canadian Labour Congress: Jean-Claude Parrot, Executive Vice-President; Kevin Hayes, Senior Economist, Social and Economic Policy. From the I.M.P. Group International Inc./CanJet Airlines: Kenneth C. Rowe, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, I.M.P. Group International Inc. AND, Principal, CanJet Airlines; B.P. O'Rourke, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, I.M.P. Group International Inc.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Randall M. Williams and Michael Janigan made opening statements and, with Trish McTavish, Harry Gow and Martin Taller, answered questions.

At 4:43 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 6:21 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Anne MacLean made an opening statement and, with Richard Robert, answered questions.

Serge Martel made an opening statement and, with Antonin Alain, answered questions.

Jean-Claude Parrot made an opening statement and, with Kevin Hayes, answered questions.

Kenneth C. Rowe made an opening statement and, with W.P. O'Rourke, answered questions.

At 9:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee