Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 5

Thursday, October 21, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:37 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Member of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher and June M. Dewetering, Researchers.

Witness: From the University of Montreal: Prof. Marc Gaudry, Economics Department, Research Centre on Transport.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.

Marc Gaudry made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 10:25 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 11:12 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

At 12:11 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 12:12 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed in camera.

By unanimous consent, the Committee waived the 48-hour notice to discuss the terms of reference.

It was agreed, unanimously, to adopt the Terms of Reference on the Future of the Airline Industry in Canada.

 At 12:29 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee