Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 46

Tuesday, April 11, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 705, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Bill Casey, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Michel Guimond, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith.

Acting Members present: Clifford Lincoln for Murray Calder; Raymonde Folco for Joe Comuzzi; Nick Discepola for Charles Hubbard; Marlene Jennings for Ovid Jackson.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Montreal Airports Development Support Group: Pierre Laferrière, Chairperson, Montreal Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce; Françoy Roberge, Director, Public Affairs and Communications, Montreal Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce; Jacques Girard, President and CEO, Montreal International; Charles Lapointe, President and CEO, "Tourisme Montréal". From the "Conseil régional de développement de l'île de Montréal": Pierre-Yves Melançon. From the Canadian Automobile and Aerospace Workers Association: Pierre Lauzon, President; Claudette Miller, Vice President. From the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers in Canada: Jean Jallet, President; Me Marc Pilon, Lawyer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of the Canadian Airport system.

Pierre Laferrière, Jacques Girard, Charles Lapointe and Pierre-Yves Melançon made opening statements and, with Françoy Roberge, answered questions.

Claudette Miller and Marc Pilon made opening statements and, with Pierre Lauzon and Jean Jallet, answered questions.

At 5:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee