Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 45

Tuesday, April 11, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 705, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith.

Acting Members present: Clifford Lincoln for Murray Calder; Raymonde Folco for Joe Comuzzi; Nick Discepola for Charles Hubbard; Marlene Jennings for Ovid Jackson; Bernard Patry for Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Montreal Airports: Nycol Pageau-Goyette, Chairman of the Board and CEO; Claude Lefebvre, Vice-Chairman of the Board; Daniel Picotte, Legal Counsel; Jean-Marc Labelle, President, Services IACm Canada inc. From the City of Blainville: Pierre Gingras, Mayor of Blainville and President, "Corporation de promotion de l'aéroport de Mirabel"; François Mercier. From the West Island Business Development Council: Steve Macdonell, Chair. From the City of Mirabel: Hubert Meilleur, Mayor of Mirabel. From the City of Dorval: Peter Yeomans, Mayor of Dorval. From the "Université du Québec à Montréal": Jacques Roy, Professor. From the "École des Hautes Études Commerciales": Robert Gagné, Economist.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee considered the examination of the Canadian Airport system.

Nycol Pageau-Goyette made an opening statement and, with Jean-Marc Labelle, Daniel Picotte and Claude Lefebvre, answered questions.

Pierre Gingras made an opening statement and, with François Mercier, answered questions.

Steve Macdonell made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 12:00 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 12:16 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Hubert Meilleur made an opening statement and answered questions.

Peter Yeomans made an opening statement and answered questions.

Jacques Roy made an opening statement and, with Robert Gagné, answered questions.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed to distribute the french document presented by Jacques Roy.

At 2:11 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges


Clerk of the Committee