Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 44

Thursday, April 6, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher and June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canada 3000: Angus Kinnear, President. From the Air Transat: Denis Jacob, Executive Vice-President; George Petsikas, Director, Government and Industry Affairs.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Denis Jacob, George Petsikas and Angus Kinnear all made opening statements and answered questions.

At 10:38 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee