Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 43

Wednesday, April 5, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Transportation Agency: Marian Robson, Chairman; Gavin Currie, Director General, Air and Accessible Transportation Branch; Claude Jacques, Director, Legal Services Directorate; David Western, Director, Accords, Tariffs & Enforcement. From the Air Transport Association of Canada: J. Clifford Mackay, President and Chief Executive Officer; Warren Everson, Vice-President, Policy and Strategic Planning. From the Bearskin Airlines: Harvey Friesen, President and CEO.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Marion Robson made an opening statement and, with Gavin Currie, David Western and Claude Jacques, answered questions.

At 4:48 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 4:53 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Clifford Mackay made an opening statement and, with Warren Everson and Cliff Friesen, answered questions.

At 5:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee