Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 39

Tuesday, February 29, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 208, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Ivan Grose for Claude Drouin; Carolyn Bennett for Joe Fontana; Garry Breitkreuz for Dale Johnston; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais; Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

Other Members present: Rick Casson; Howard Hilstrom; Reg Alcock; Lee Morrison.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witness: From the Grain Handling and Transportation: Arthur Kroeger, Facilitator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to hold a briefing session on Grain Transportation.

Arthur Kroeger made an opening statement and answered questions.

Val Meredith moved,--That the Committee strike a Sub-Committee in order to study the impact on fuel taxes on the Canadian Transportation industry.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following division: YEAS=4; NAYS=8.

YEAS= Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Garry Breitkeuz, Val Meredith.

NAYS=Carolyn Bennett, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Ivan Grose, Ovid Jackson, Dick Proctor, Lou Sekora.

 At 5:39 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Committee Clerk