Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 17

Thursday, November 4, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith.

Acting Members present: Stephane Bergeron for Gérard Asselin; Paul Mercier for Michel Guimond from 4:03 p.m. to 5:32 p.m.; Guy St-Julien for Ovid Jackson.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From WestJet Airlines: Stephen Smith, President and CEO. From the Bearskin Airlines: Harvey Friesen, President. From the First Air: Robert Davis, President; Pita Aatami, Chairman of the Board, Makivik Corporation; Sam Silverstone, Legal Counsel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.




S. Smith, H. Friesen, R. Davis, P. Aatami, S. Silverstone made opening statements and answered questions.

 At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee