Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 59

Wednesday, June 14, 2000

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 536, Wellington Building, the Chair, Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Chuck Cadman, Aileen Carroll, Ivan Grose, Peter MacKay, Jacques Saada and Andy Scott.

Acting Members present: Chuck Strahl for Jim Abbott and Réal Ménard for Pierrette Venne.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marilyn Pilon, Researcher; Philip Rosen, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: From the As Individual: Gerald Chipeur, Lawyer. From the Canadian HIV-AIDS Legal Network: Richard Elliott, Director, Policy and Research. From the Canadian Police Association: Dale Kinnear, Director, Labour Services; Isobel Anderson, Police Officer, Ottawa-Carleton Police. From the University of Alberta Hospital: Dr. Steven Shafran, Professor of Medicine, Director, Division of Infectious Diseases.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 21, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-244, An Act to provide for the taking of samples of blood for the benefit of persons administering and enforcing the law and good Samaritans and to amend the Criminal Code (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 6, 2000 , Meeting No. 43).

The witnesses made opening statements and answered questions.

At 5:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Roger Préfontaine

Clerk of the Committee